Spring Has Sprung

After an incredibly long and frigid winter, Spring has finally arrived in Chicago. At least I think it has.

The Keukenhof gardens in Lisse, the Netherlands. 2003

This is one of my favorite seasonal photos. It’s my daughter in 2003 at the Keukenhof gardens near Lisse, the Netherlands. An estimated 7 million flower bulbs are planted here every year. When they bloom, it’s an amazing sight to see. Nobody does springtime flowers quite like the Dutch.

I’m taking a blogging break this week to enjoy the school holidays with my family. I’ll be back to my regular posting schedule on Monday, April 7.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung

  1. What a sweet photo, Gwen! Enjoy your vacation. I hope you weren’t shaken up by the earthquake last Friday. :)

    • It was the night we arrived, Jill. We felt it as we relaxed in our hotel enjoying room service. The complete LA experience!

  2. And I bet those years have gone by in a flash! She looks so cute there with her flowers on her jeans.
    Enjoy your holiday, see you back soon :)

  3. Rajni

    I love the picture! Your daughter looks adorable. Enjoy your vacation.

  4. I love this photo Gwen! It will be a while before our Colorado gardens look like that! Have a great week!

  5. Have a great week! You timed it perfectly because it does indeed appear spring may finally be here (though I hate to jinx us by saying that…)

  6. I just returned from a week off for Spring break with my family.

    I love the tulips and the fact that Spring has finally sprung, at least here in Arkansas. I just posted a poem on Spring and a lovely photo of a tulip tree (I took pic last week) today.

    Enjoy your time off with your family.

  7. Enjoy your break Gwen! Cute photo!

  8. Beautiful photo. We will miss your postings.

  9. Good for you Gwen! Enjoy the time out with your family x

  10. Hope your week is relaxing and warm!

  11. Hope you have a great break with your family! You’ve earned it!

  12. I hope you’re enjoying the break with some spring-like weather!

  13. Cute! I love Keukenhof too.

  14. fransiweinstein

    Gosh she was cute!! Yes, the Gardens are on my must-see list. My cousin lives in Amsterdam so what I’m waiting for I don’t know. Enjoy your break!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 803 other followers

