The Six Train to Wisconsin: a Different Kind of Romance

Love is a journey, never a destination ~ Author Kourtney Heintz

Imagine for a moment how life would change if you possessed telepathic power. If you could hear the thoughts and feel the emotions of everyone around you, within a half-mile radius. Blessing or curse?

TheSixTraintoWisconsinCover_web2Now complicate this scenario and put yourself in the most densely-populated urban area in the United States: Manhattan. Thousands of voices swirling through your mind, day after day. How do you filter it? How do you keep it from dominating your life? This is Kai Richter’s reality in The Six Train to Wisconsin, and it’s rapidly spiraling out of control.

Realizing his wife is teetering on the brink of insanity, Oliver Richter can think of only one way to save her. With the help of a drug-enhanced glass of wine and a pair of handcuffs, he whisks her away to a remote Midwestern village deep in the woods of northern Wisconsin.

But it’s not quite happily ever after. In his hometown of Butternut, Oliver must face an angry, resentful wife, an ex-girlfriend who seems intent on sinking her hooks into him, and of course, the demons of his past that compelled him to flee a decade ago.

I’ve been a fan of romance novels, or any story with romantic elements, all my life. It’s the allure of two people who want to be together, but can’t, or shouldn’t, that draws me in. I invest in the characters and cling to the hope that somewhere in the final pages, against the odds, the pair will find a way to make it work.

The Six Train to Wisconsin defies this familiar formula. Instead of keeping our hero and heroine apart until the very end, this is the story of two people who’ve already committed to each other. Their struggle is about overcoming obstacles in order to stay together.

Told through alternating points of view, the novel follows their healing journey through the frigid Wisconsin winter. Along the way, we experience Kai’s tortured, telepathic mind firsthand. We meet new characters — some living, some dead — through Kai’s dreamwalking, in a unique blend of reality and fantasy.

The Six Train to Wisconsin is first and foremost a love story. It’s about working through real life problems, loving the one you’re with, and the value we place on commitment. It explores the themes of loss, grief, and healing, and ultimately, forgiveness and acceptance.

Available in Paperback through: Amazon and Barnes and Noble

Ebook available through: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Kobo, and iTunes.

Author Kourtney Heinz

Connecting with Kourtney Heintz: Website; WordPress blog; Twitter; Pinterest; Author pages on Facebook, Amazon, and Goodreads

Kourtney Heintz’s debut novel, The Six Train to Wisconsin, is a 2013 USA Best Book Awards finalist and was an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award semifinalist in 2012.

26 responses to “The Six Train to Wisconsin: a Different Kind of Romance

  1. I love stories told through alternating points of view. I’ve got this on my Kindle with hopes of reading it soon. Great review, Gwen! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  2. Nice to see Kourtney’s book here. It was a great read. I love the crisp writing style. :)

  3. This sounds like a goodie, adding it to my “to be read” too! Thanks!

  4. Sounds like an interesting read. You’ve got me hooked, Gwen!

  5. This sounds slightly weird, which is what I like, so thanks for the good review, Gwen!

  6. Romance is not in my usual reading sandbox, but this sounds intriguing. Thanks for the great review Gwen.

  7. This one’s next on my list – I really can’t wait to read it and I’ve been saying that for too long now! You’ve intrigued me even more and I didn’t think that was possible. Thank you for not giving too much away too!

  8. Fascinating plot. I’ve added the book to my to-read list. Thanks for the review, Gwen.

  9. Thanks for an amazing review Gwen! :) I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed my unconventional love story. I’m planning to read your awesome beta notes in December. I’m still working on outlining Six Train’s sequel. A tummie bug’s taken me down for 4 days. :(

    • You’re so welcome, Kourtney. I love spreading the word here on the blog when I’ve read a good indie. Sorry to hear about your bug. Never a good thing right before Thanksgiving. Hope you’re on the mend soon.

  10. Unconventional love stories make such interesting reads, especially with the crisp writing style that Carrie mentioned in her comment above. I’ll definitely have to add this one to my TBR list. :-)

  11. Brilliant review Gwen – I think this could be your thing (on top of writing). You seem to have a knack for it. I am fully intending to read Six Trains but am finishing 4 others at the moment – arrrggghhh!!! You’re write-up sounds fantastic – it sounds like an interesting read. Thanks! (ps my site has been hijacked by hackers it appears – hopefully I’ll be back up and running soon!!)

    • Oh, no Gemma! I’ve missed your posts, so I assumed there was a logical explanation – too bad it’s such an unfortunate one. Why are there so many insidious people in the world? I’m glad you enjoyed the review, and thank you for your kind words. I’d gladly become a book blogger if I weren’t such a dreadfully slow reader.

  12. The Six Train is such a good book—and takes such an interesting twist on stories about relationships. Great character development, intriguing story line, lots of conflict and tension—it’s a tough one to set down!

Leave a Reply

