This Week, It’s All About You

P1010203

Earlier this month I celebrated my one-year blogging anniversary. Maintaining a blog for a full year has been a fantastic experience that’s broadened my writing horizons. I’m especially grateful for my following, all the wonderful folks who who show up to read my posts week after week. Connecting with all of you has been the best, most unanticipated side of blogging.

So this week, I’d like to learn more about my readers. Recently the Daily Post featured a great prompt that satisfies this objective:

“On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses?”

Below are the ten questions, and my personal answers. I’d love to read YOUR answers in the comments!

  1. What is your favorite word? appreciation
  2. What is your least favorite word? basically
  3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? A fresh playlist on my iPod
  4. What turns you off? Arrogance
  5. What is your favorite curse word? unfortunately, the f-bomb
  6. What sound or noise do you love? It’s a cliche, but I love the sound of my children’s voices
  7. What sound or noise do you hate? Someone reaching into a snack bag again and again — the crinkling sound drives me nuts! (weird, I know, but we all have our hang-ups)
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Personal trainer
  9. What profession would you not like to do? Politics
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Hey! There’s some folks here who’ve been waiting for you!”

Now it’s your turn. How would you answer these questions? Can’t wait to hear from you!

42 responses to “This Week, It’s All About You

  1. Hi Gwen, So happy you and your family are safe! I hate the crinkling sound of hands in a snack bag too, especially while in a movie theater!

    1.What is your favorite word? Humility
    2.What is your least favorite word? Like
    3.What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? Music
    4.What turns you off? A person who interrupts when your speaking.
    5.What is your favorite curse word? Damn
    6.What sound or noise do you love? The ocean.
    7.What sound or noise do you hate? An untrained barking dog.
    8.What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Oceanographer
    9.What profession would you not like to do? Mortician
    10.If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Go back, it’s not your time.”

  2. Jill, I’m so glad you left a reply here! I hope others will, too. Good to know I’m not the only person who hates crinkling snack bags — I’d worried I would sound like a crazy person. I also love the sound of the ocean. Nothing says “relaxation” better. An Oceanographer, huh?

  3. I love these question/answer things. I’m with you and Jill on the crinkly snack bags – add in the smell of popcorn – double yuk!
    1. Favourite word: Happy
    2.Least favourite word: Boredom
    3.What turns you on creatively etc: Music – Dylan or Pink Floyd especially
    4. What turns you off? : Other people in the house
    5. Favourite curse word: Sod it
    6. Sound I love: the sea
    7. Sound I hate: the TV on in the background
    8.Tour Guide
    9. Accountant
    10. I’d like to hear God say “You’re late,”

  4. My favorite word of the day -delicious.
    The rest I would have to think about!

  5. Gwen, this is a good one. I probably would answer differently tomorrow!

    1. What is your favorite word? Natural
    2. What is your least favorite word? Like (when it’s used every other word in sentences…)
    3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? color
    4. What turns you off? Being ignored
    5. What is your favorite curse word? Oh yeah, F-
    6. What sound or noise do you love? My cat’s purring
    7. What sound or noise do you hate? TV
    8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Park Ranger
    9. What profession would you not like to do? Executive Assistant
    10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “I’ve been waiting for you”

  6. I might answer these…given enough time. I need to think, I’d be awful at these on the spot!

  7. I’ll answer this one for now, since I have to think of the others. “What sound or noise do you love?”—My children’s and my husband’s laughter. Such a beautiful sound. :)

  8. What is your favorite word? Freedom
    What is your least favorite word? Responsibility
    What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? The first cup of fresh ground coffee
    What turns you off? Unwarranted certainty
    What is your favorite curse word? Variety is the spice of life! I seem to bounce between several…
    What sound or noise do you love? rhythmic taps or clicking.. must be the musician in me
    What sound or noise do you hate? Nails on the chalkboard…
    What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Pro musician
    What profession would you not like to do? Septic Tank Cleaner
    If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Let me explain to you why life was so complicated and most everything made no sense.”

    • I love that so many of your responses are music-related. Fits well with your creative mind. My husband is a rhythmic taps guy, too. In his younger days he was a percussionist. He taps along with any beat, even the turn signal on the car!

  9. What is your favorite word? Thank You. One has to take a moment and give gratitude to someone else for something. It acknowledges appreciation.
    What is your least favorite word? Two words: I can’t. At least try.
    What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? Music or a beautiful scenery/moment
    What turns you off? Stupidity/Rudeness/Arrogance/Bad Manners
    What is your favorite curse word? Don’t have one
    What sound or noise do you love? My children’s laugh, The sound of rain, Birds singing
    What sound or noise do you hate? Bad music, The sound of gossiping
    What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? A contemporary gospel singer-only I can’t sing well
    What profession would you not like to do? Factory. Someone has to do it, but the repetition and boredom would drive me insane.
    If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? Welcome home.

  10. This is great, Gwen – love it!

    Here’s mine:
    1.What is your favorite word? Diversity
    2.What is your least favorite word? Gingerly (overused)
    3.What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? The natural environment / People who dare to be different
    4.What turns you off? Eggy farts (sorry)
    5.What is your favorite curse word? Dare I say it – the C Word (sorry again).
    6.What sound or noise do you love? English birds
    7.What sound or noise do you hate? Snoring
    8.What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Documentary maker
    9.What profession would you not like to do? Brain surgeon (or any type of surgeon – squirmish)
    10.If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Best selling authors this way please.”

  11. 1. Favorite word: Joy
    2. Least favorite word: I absolutely loath the word cute. I mean how many times have you heard: She/he’s so cute. That is a cute car. Isn’t that the cutest baby. You have such a cute smile. That was a cute story.
    3.Turn on? Music.
    4.Turn off? People who tell you that you can’t.
    5.Favorite curse word? B___ S___
    6. Sound or noise you love? Music, esp. Frank Sinatra. (I have a list of artists a mile long.)
    7.Sound you can’t stand? Chalk scrapping across a chalk board.
    8.Profession other than my own? Full-time Novelist/short story writer.
    9.Profession I would not like? Social Worker.
    10. What would you like to hear God say? This reminds me of a joke. People are standing in line at the Pearly Gates. Man goes up to God and says, “Do I get in?” God says, “You were such a drunk, you married a woman named Brandy. Get out of here.” Second guy to God, “Can I come in?” God says, “You were so stingy you married a woman named Penny. Get out of here.” Third guy turns to the woman standing beside him, “Guess you know what this means, don’t you, Fanny?”

  12. Great idea Gwen.
    Favorite word: Inspiration
    Lease favorite word: acrimonious ( negative, but also reminds me of spiders!)
    Creative turn on: being outdoors in nature
    Spiritual inspiration: meditation
    Turn off: People who don’t give space in a conversation for others / don’t listen.
    Sounds I love: my son laughing in his sleep/ wind through the trees
    Sounds I despise: people yelling into their cell phones at 2am in a neighborhood, obvlivious to the world around them.
    Profession I’d love: Full-time novelist / writer
    Profession I wouldn’t love: construction worker
    God: Thanks for staying in touch with me throughout the years. Sorry so many of the conversations seemed one way to you. I provided answers in different ways, but you only caught onto some of them. I’ve been tracking all of your questions and I’ve written a book just for you, with all the answers therein.

  13. Love your message to God. How very personal. Thanks for sharing your answers! PS — I hate loud cell phone talkers, too. Any time of day.

  14. 1. What is your favourite word? Serendipity
    2. What is your least favourite word? Potty
    3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? New music. Any music
    4. What turns you off? Self-centeredness
    5. What is your favourite curse word? the f-bomb – and unfortunately I drop it daily
    6. What sound or noise do you love? A windy thunderstorm – calms me right down
    7. What sound or noise do you hate? Cutlery clanging together – for some reason drives me crazy
    8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Blues/jazz singer
    9. What profession would you not like to do? Teachers – God love them. I don’t have the patience
    10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Everyone has been waiting for you. Right this way”

    • Yay thanks for sharing Libby! I’m not surprised you’re turned on by music, with all the music clips you share on your blog. Funny you hate the sound of cutlery clanging. An incessantly crinkling snack bag has the same effect on me. Can’t explain why it drives me nuts. Looking forward to your Friday cool links :)

  15. I’ll answer number seven – the sound of a fork or knife on a plate when someone is eating, eww.

  16. Fun Gwen! Here’s my ten:
    1.quintessential
    2.busy
    3.traveling
    4. stupidity
    5.f-word
    6.rain
    7. crying kids
    8. Painter
    9. anything in waste management
    10. Took you long enough

    • Thanks for playing along, Kourtney! Funny you’re an f-bomb girl, too. :D I also like the sound of rain. Never thought of it while cooking up my answers!

      • Happy to contribute. Thanks for asking to know your readers a bit more. :) Oh yes. A decade of working with traders and 8 years living in Manhattan. I’ve used it as every form of speech. ;) I have a noise maker beside my bed and rain is one of my favorite settings.

  17. What a great way to get to know folks better! Here’s my go at it:

    What is your favorite word? respect
    What is your least favorite word? “like” (as in, like, you know, like, what I mean?)
    What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? A walk through beautiful country
    What turns you off? Hypocrisy
    What is your favorite curse word? Um, yeah, the f-bomb, too
    What sound or noise do you love? Birdsong in the morning
    What sound or noise do you hate? Music of any kind being blared from a car or neighbor’s house
    What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Foreign Service
    What profession would you not like to do? Politics
    If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Here’s what it all meant.”

    • I’m so glad you played along, JM! I’m noticing a pattern here among readers – “like” is a word many can’t stand! And I agree, although working with children all day may have helped me build up a tolerance for it! I’d love to have God explain what it all meant, too.

  18. Pingback: Getting To Know You….. | Authors Winter Wonderland

  19. What is your favorite word? burgundy (my favorite color, too, and isn’t it a fun word? It’s so very smooth somehow.)
    What is your least favorite word? “orientate” because it’s a fake word that people use as if it were real
    What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? good books and good stories
    What turns you off? cigarettes, smoking, smokers — I wish we could banish them from public places…
    What is your favorite curse word? Lately, I’ve been saying “fudgenuckers” a lot, not sure where I picked that up.
    What sound or noise do you love? The sound of pine trees rustling in the wind
    What sound or noise do you hate? continuous car alarms
    What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? physicist (like Meg Murry’s mom in A Wrinkle in Time)
    What profession would you not like to do? politics — I’m with you on this one, Gwen
    If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “We’ve been waiting for you! Also, I’m going to tell you the answers to all those questions you’ve been wanting to ask me.”

    • Thanks for contributing, Christi! “Orientate”‘ made me chuckle. I’ve heard it too, and it always stops me short because you’re right, it’s not a real word! “Basically” is the word that makes me crazy. It’s SO overused, and most of the time it’s completely unnecessary.

  20. Whoooop! Congratulations on the first year – it’s amazing how quickly it goes isn’t it? Great set of questions, here are some mediocre answers…

    1.What is your favorite word? Rambunctious
    2.What is your least favorite word? No (at least when it’s aimed at me)
    3.What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? Music, preferably played at high volume
    4.What turns you off? Arrogance – who the hell do they think they are?
    5.What is your favorite curse word? Bollo**s (and many impromptu ‘portmanteau’ swearwords far too offensive to quote)
    6.What sound or noise do you love? A cat purring
    7.What sound or noise do you hate? Whistling – especially that warbling kind of whistling intended to show just how jolly and carefree the whistler is. SHUT. UP!!!!!
    8.What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? Writer – no surprise there!
    9.What profession would you not like to do? Teacher – I’d hate to have to stand up in front of dozens of kids and try and keep them in check.
    10.If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? “Ah, welcome, Marilyn Monroe’s been waiting for you…”

  21. What is your favorite word? plenipotentiary
    What is your least favorite word? amazeballs
    What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? anything that gives me that tingly feeling down my spine – a powerful song, image or passage of writing
    What turns you off? stupidity / ignorance
    What is your favorite curse word? cunt
    What sound or noise do you love? my front door closing behind me when I go home
    What sound or noise do you hate? sirens – police, ambulance, fire trucks
    What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? professional rugby player
    What profession would you not like to do? traffic warden
    If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? ‘and now here’s everything you always wanted to know…’

Leave a Reply

