A Post About Nothing

It seems ironic that today, the one-year anniversary of The 4 A.M. Writer, I have nothing to write about. It’s the first time ideas have eluded me. In the past year I’ve written more than 90 posts. Inspiration has struck at the most unexpected times and places. But this week, nothing.

So I’ve decided in honor of my one-year anniversary, to give myself the week off.

I started this blog to add some discipline to my writing life. Maintaining a weekly posting schedule has helped me adhere to this intent. If I write nothing else during the week, the blog holds me accountable for producing a few hundred words.

I’d also hoped to find my voice and hone my writing skills. I can’t say I’ve succeeded, for these goals are moving targets, never-ending works in progress.

IMG_1861

Freedom of expression has been one of the greatest aspects of writing a blog. Its content is limited only by my muse, and it can evolve over time. Who knows what The 4 A.M. Writer will look like next November, but I’m looking forward to finding out.

My following one year on is small but loyal. I’m grateful to everyone who shows up week after week, and I love when you share your thoughts. Connecting with all of you has been the best, most unanticipated side of blogging.

Thank you all for your continued support. See you next Monday.

37 responses to “A Post About Nothing

  1. Happy Anniversary, Gwen! Oh, the leaves are so beautiful this time of year. Unfortunately some gusty winds over the weekend brought many of ours down, but it was lovely while it lasted. Have a great week!

  2. Yeah, happy anniversary, Gwen! Enjoy your week off. We all need that sometimes. And yes you have evolved as a writer in this past year. Keep going!

  3. Happy birthday to your blog, and well done for all those posts – having a week off is perfectly in order, I’d say. See you soon x

  4. Enjoy the week! Sometimes it’s good to step away from the keyboard. Happy anniversary!

  5. Congrats on your one-year mark! Many bloggers never get there. :)

  6. Congrats on the one year anniversary! And it’s good to take a break. See you next Monday. :) Blogging is a great way to build a writing regimen. And you’ve done good work all year.

  7. The 4 A.M. Writer makes Mondays a joy. Keep up exploring and learning the writing craft – as you say, a moving target and a never ending work in progress.

  8. Congrats Gwen and enjoy your well-deserved time off. You’ll come back when your brain decides it will explode without some release. :)

  9. Happy anniversary!

    The blogging connections is great, isn’t it? Glad to have met you.

    Enjoy the week off and look forward to seeing you again.

  10. Had the same problem with my blog last year. Just drew a complete blank for ideas, so I wrote about all the bad ideas I had that were intended as blogs but never made it.

    Anyway, congrats on your blogoversary!

  11. Hi Gwen! congratulations. but in writing about nothing, you wrote about something important: your purpose in starting the blog and what it has brought you. Enjoy your down time:). Wouldn’t be surprised if new ideas percolate to the surface.

    • I realized the irony of writing about nothing led to writing about something. Stepping away almost always leads to new ideas an a fresh, energized perspective. Thanks, Kristin!

  12. Congratulations on one year, Gwen – a fantastic achievement! It has been such a pleasure reading your blogs and connecting with you over the web. I look forward to sharing your journey into your second year and following the progression of your blog. All the best, Gemma x

    • Thanks for your support, Gemma, it means a lot. Yours was one of the first blogs I discovered when I started blogging, and I’m still excited when I see a new post from you waiting in my inbox.

      The world has become so much smaller over the past 20 years, and I feel very fortunate to have connected with writers around the world through blogging. My phone app signaled your comment had posted last night while I was cooking dinner. As I read, I imagined you tucked away in your favorite cafe, sipping your morning coffee in a place where it was already tomorrow. Truly magical, isn’t it?

  13. I need the discipline of posting EVERY TUESDAY otherwise I’d wimp out! CONGRATS to you!

  14. What a wonderful milestone you’ve reached, Gwen! Isn’t it amazing how many friends you’ve made in the past year? For me, that’s the very best part of blogging. Your is one of several blogs I look forward to reading every week, so thank you for taking the time to get those few hundred words out there!

  15. Thank you Candace, for your support! I agree, the connections are the best part of blogging, and I’m honored that you look forward to my posts — I’ll work hard to not disappoint ;). I could say the same for your posts, always chock-full of useful content. Someday when I’ve produced a manuscript worth your time, you’ll be the editor I contact.

  16. Congratulations on your 1st anniversary! I’ve found that blogging, like our other writing, is a continually evolving beast. We may have some constants in our posts, but our ideas and interests change, too. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with for this next year!

  17. Congratulations. And see you next Monday.

  18. Wooh!! Congratulations on your blogiversary! It’s always a delight to see a new post from you land in my inbox. If your blog is any reflection of your writing, then I’d say your voice and skills are doing just fine thank you very much. Keep up the excellent work.

  19. A belated Happy Blogiversary. Here’s to the next 12 months :)

Leave a Reply

